Great Lakes Angler Forum

propane smoker advise

i have a question on smoking that I am hoping I can get some advise on. I have always used an electric little chief with mixed results, but I recently got a 48" propane cabelas smoker. I have never used a propane smoker before, or a smoker with a water bowl which this one has. I am very familiar with the brining and letting the plicle form, however I'm not really clear on what the best temps or temp steps are best for smoking. Am I going to have a hard time keeping the temp low enough with the propane smoker in the summer? Give me some tips on smacking with a smoker like this. I want to get some idea before I make my first attempt with it.

I have had a Cabela's propane smoker for the last 8 years. Prior to it I had the same vertical multi-shelf type with charcoal for a heat source and would have to get a new one every 3 years of so. This one is stainless steel and no signs of rust or problems at all. The temp gauge does not have a scale with actual temps. I usually start it out at around 1/2 and then after around a half hour back it off to 1/3. About every hour I will add more wood to the box and fill up the water pan. If I fill all 4 racks with salmon the top rack is done in around 3 hours and the bottom around 4. It does seem to work a little better with temperatures in the 30 to 50 range but I have used it down to around 10 and in summer heat too. Just have to monitor the meat a little closer.

Does a great job smoking turkey and hams too.
    Ryan... ... Think KINGS!

Boat Name: CATtitude Adjustment -- 21' SeaCat
    More technology per square foot than any boat on the Great Lakes