Great Lakes Angler Forum

Crestliner Nighthawk 1640

Newbie here....lots of really nice rigs! I don't venture too far out in mine. Really enjoy it though. :)
    Crestliner.jpg
    This photo was taken at Mosquito last year, and I've done quite a few mods to her this year. I plan to get out on Lake Erie much more this season....(being very selective about which days I go, of course!)
    Last edited by Mooner; 01-07-2018 at 08:04 PM.
    PolarKraft Frontier 179WT
    Yamaha 90 4 Stroke
    MinnKota Terrova 80# w/ iPilot US2
    Lowrance HDS 2 Touch, Lowrance Elite 5x

Baby steps...I started out years ago in a 14' Starcraft deep water model with a 15 hp outboard. Fished early season for salmon out the southern Lake Huron ports, St. Clair and inland lakes. Finally made my way to a 30' cruiser before downsizing a year ago to a 17' Crestliner. There's a lot to be said for either extreme. Comfort, safety and range of the big boat vs. economy, versatility and mobility of a smaller craft. Nice looking Crestliner.

On nice days your boat can catch you a lot of fish and fun! Just be careful and watch the weather.

You can also get in and fish skinnier water up on the beaches in the spring than the big boys can. That can be fun fishing!

nice looking boat..... post some more pictures of it...

Quote Originally Posted by play dough View Post
    Baby steps...I started out years ago in a 14' Starcraft deep water model with a 15 hp outboard. Fished early season for salmon out the southern Lake Huron ports, St. Clair and inland lakes. Finally made my way to a 30' cruiser before downsizing a year ago to a 17' Crestliner. There's a lot to be said for either extreme. Comfort, safety and range of the big boat vs. economy, versatility and mobility of a smaller craft. Nice looking Crestliner.
    Your words are much appreciated! I think, ideally, I'd like a bit bigger vessel, side counsel, and probably a 60 hp. I could still go on the smaller inland lakes, but feel safer on Lake Erie.